Acupuncture Meridians

Acupuncture Meridians are the pathways along which the qi flows and have been shown through modern technological methods to exist and possess bioelectric function similar to peripheral nerves but along their own separate pathways. There are 12 main meridians and 8 secondary meridians that travel up, down and around our bodies.  The 12 main meridians are referred to as follows:

Lung, Large Intestine, Stomach, Spleen, Heart, Small Intestine, Bladder, Kidney, Pericardium, Triple Heater, Gall Bladder and Liver.

They are named after the organs or systems that according to TCM they are thought to influence. In TCM there is believed to be a cyclical flow of qi from one meridian to the next every two hours.